Skip to content

another recipe roundup

April 12, 2012

Homemade bread

I’ve been working extra hours and things are getting very busy in the garden, but cooking is still my favorite way to unwind. Here’s what I’ve been making lately:

  • Butternut Bean Soup. A simple white bean soup elegantly served in half a roasted butternut squash. The recipe is from Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Mineral and you can download a pdf here.
  • Boston Baked Beans. I was inspired to make some after my mom was interviewed about our family’s bean lore for this Boston Globe article. I made a few tweaks to the family recipe–skipped the salt pork and cooked them in the slow cooker–and they were delicious! The leftovers were especially good on toast with a fried egg on top.
  • Tahini Soup. Tahini is my favorite food, so I stock my freezer with this soup whenever I have an abundance of carrots. It’s a nice change of pace from the hearty soups I crave all winter.
  • Carrot Millet Muffins. Thankfully, the abundance of carrots also led me to discover this recipe. The millet adds the most amazing crunch! I made three batches in as many weeks.
  • West African Groundnut Stew.  The days my shopping trips to PCC coincided with them serving this soup were always red letter days for sure. But thanks to Sundays at Moosewood, I can now make it at home. Sweet potatoes, hearty greens, and peanut butter–what’s not to love??
  • Stinging Nettle Pesto. The stringy stems were a workout for my food processor, but this is my favorite way to eat nettles. It’s good on pasta, but is heavenly on grilled cheese. I use this recipe from Fat of the Land as a guideline, but substitute sunflower seeds for pine nuts to make it more affordable.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2012 8:58 am

    I just love Moosewoods. It rare to find cookbooks that turn out such excellent recipes time and time again. I’m so glad you enjoyed the muffins. They have such a lovely unexpected crunch.

    • mjade permalink*
      April 16, 2012 8:18 pm

      Agreed, and thanks for sharing the recipe! I think I found your recipe via Tastespotting. At first I was excited to use up the bit of millet I had, but then I immediately had to go buy more for future batches!

Leave a Reply

