Skip to content

A handful of recent meals

February 17, 2012
bike with groceries

I feel the need to get a handlebar basket just for those times I need to carry a baguette.

I approach cooking like I approach knitting: both are deeply satisfying hobbies, I love learning new techniques and skills, and I almost always put my own spin on a finished product. But I don’t, at least at this point, feel much need to create my own patterns or recipes. But I do love to share ideas, so every once in a while I’ll post about what I’ve been cooking. Lately, I’ve been trying to snap out of a winter soup rut. Here’s what has helped:

    • Butternut squash risotto. My homemade veggie stock made this risotto surprisingly brown (all those onion skins!), but oh so tasty.
    • Red Beans & Rice. I followed the recipe in Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything, and made my own coconut milk using the instructions in Can it, Bottle it, Smoke it by Karen Solomon (tip: feed the used coconut to your chickens–ours love it!).
    • Macaroni & Cheese. A special treat. I usually skip the breadcrumbs and always add some broccoli or spinach to make it a more complete meal.
    • French Onion Soup. I usually make this tasty vegetarian version from the NY Times, but went all out this time with beef soup bones from Olsen Farms to make stock. I used the onion soup recipe from Tamar Adler’s An Everlasting Meal (WELL worth reading).
    • Chocolate Beet Muffins. My initial skepticism was unwarranted–these muffins from Sustainable Eats are delicious. I grated the beets very finely and you’d never be able to guess they’re in there!
Leave a Reply

