Skip to content

don’t call it a staycation

May 22, 2009
tags:
Space Needle through a sculpture in Olympic Sculpture Park

Space Needle through a sculpture in Olympic Sculpture Park

I’ve lived in Seattle for almost eight months now, and thanks to my recent nomadic tendencies, it’s felt like a long time. But for a number of reasons (mainly work and weather), there is a lot of exploring that I haven’t gotten around to yet. Luckily, my sister and the sun both arrived at the same time and I got to be a tourist in my own town for a little over a week. It was the perfect excuse to do all the goofy, touristy things that I usually avoid because I don’t want to mark myself as (gasp!) an out-of-towner. We climbed on the Fremont Troll, took pictures of the Space Needle, walked through Olympic Sculpture Park, and browsed the Ye Olde Curiosity Shop. I even consulted a guidebook in public.

We packed a ton of activity into the nine days that K was here and I tried lots of new things, so I’ll spread it out over several posts. But the fun we had while doing it made me realize something. There is nothing wrong with seeking out and enjoying the things that make a place unique. I can think of plenty of reasons why “tourist” has become a dirty word; reckless RV drivers and people who sit on Galapagos tortoises come to mind. But sometimes we go to far in the other direction and think that any outward displays of enthusiasm or confusion will make us that kind of tourist. In the end, we work so hard to seem cool and aloof that we don’t have any fun.

So I’m going to keep taking pictures, staring openly at beautiful sights, and making the most of what Seattle has to offer. Just don’t expect to see me on a Duck Tour anytime soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

